PDA

View Full Version : Green Card Lottery Banner.


floridapete
08-25-2006, 08:07 AM
I was surprised to see a Green Card Lottery online banner flashing at the top right corner of the home page on this site today. Maybe it has been there before and maybe I just didn't see it ?

The banner takes you to : http://winagreencardonline.com/

I have no idea who this firm is, or how this banner came to be flashing up there, but as a general rule I have come to regard all such 'solicitations' with regards to the Green Card Lottery over the many years that I have watched it as coming under the general heading of the 'catch 'em and skin 'em' kinds of business enterprise.

Take a look at the site and see what you think.

One thing that always worries me about these 'offers' is that there is usually NO obvious indication that BRITISH nationals are NOT allowed to enter. Never have been since after the first DVP lottery in 1991. Yes, there is a long, long list of those nationals who ARE allowed to enter - but not the converse one of the nationalities that are NOT allowed to enter.

I know a few winners of the Green Card Lottery many of whom are living close to you right now ! But none of them got their cards for being British. All of them (after 1991) only secured their cards by claiming some tenuous connection to Irish grandparentage - or South African birth, or whatever.

So I DO feel that this banner may be misleading to many of our ExpatsVoice members and I think that serious consideration should be given to review its ongoing presence on the site.

There - now I feel better for that ! :)

JulieC
08-25-2006, 05:44 PM
Also I believe it is very easy to apply for this yourself if you speak English.

DavidL
09-01-2006, 11:08 PM
I just checked out the banner and while I believe it's presence is missleading, once you enter the site it does have a list of qualifying countries of which Britain aint. But, I do agree that it gives a missleading impression.