Expat's Voice
Home Register Forum Articles Ask An Attorney Games Arcade Our Sponsors Our Petition
Welcome guest! Have we helped?
separating bar
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts


Go Back   Expat's Voice > General > Science, Technology & IT
Vonage - VOIP

Forum section: Science, Technology & IT - Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.  -  Use English only please.

Science, Technology & IT Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2007, 02:17 PM     #41
McSporran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Homeland: UK
Posts: 877
McSporran is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Thanks Kimmy - I had already ordered Vonage - then I remembered the alarm, so glad it can be sorted. - Thanks again McS
McSporran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:36 PM     #42
McSporran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Homeland: UK
Posts: 877
McSporran is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Probably me being thick..or old...or both...but whats VOIP?
McSporran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:09 PM     #43
telco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 295
telco is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Vonage - VOIP

VOIP - Voice Over Internet protocol.
This is the moethod of transmission for the voice calls you make through companies like Vonage, Skype etc....

Sorry but Telecoms is full of abbreviations. It's hard not to use them
telco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:36 PM     #44
McSporran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Homeland: UK
Posts: 877
McSporran is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Thanks Telco.
McSporran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 03:30 AM     #45
ann h
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Homeland: Somerset, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 27
ann h is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

We have Vonage it is great but how do we get the alarm system to work.
We do not have a phone line only a cable for TV and 3g Internet.
Anns hubby
Andy
__________________
Ann
ann h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 03:52 AM     #46
Susie
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Susie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Davenport, FL
Homeland: London
Posts: 9,402
Susie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Kay told me about a new company called VOIP , no contracts to sign , free unlimited calls anywhere in the USA , Canada and Puerto Rico @ $19.95 per month or pay for the whole year up front @ $16.95 per month anyone use or heard of this company?
__________________
Regards Sue

Please note I am not a lawyer but want to be so this is just IMHO
Susie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 03:53 AM     #47
Kriz1
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,365
Kriz1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

We were offered wireless for our alarm...incase we got VOIP....
__________________
Tea party member

It is only possible to live happily ever after on a day-to-day basis.
Kriz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:14 PM     #48
telco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 295
telco is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Ann. Alarm sysytems rely on communication via the phone line. Depeneding on the type of connection you have with Vonage, you may be able to have the alarm connected. However, if the alarm system is permanently wire, not just a phone plug, then it will not work. You will have to contact the alarm company.

Susie. No I have not heard of them However, I never offer pay up front for a year, and I advise you not to. Any company that wants 12 month contract or pay for a year up front be very wary of.

Peter. Vonage is the market leader for this type of service. However, they are hugely in debt, and unless ATT buy them (as they buy everyone in Telecoms), they may not be around too long.
Down side is that you have to pay your minimum phone line rental. However, gives you that facility should the power issue be a cause for concern.

Last edited by SHEILA 13; 09-16-2007 at 02:16 PM.. Reason: Self advertising
telco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:21 PM     #49
ann h
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Homeland: Somerset, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 27
ann h is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

If we have a power down we have it set up to divert to a Cell phone after 30 seconds of a person calling.
Seems to work we tried it out last night
__________________
Ann
ann h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 01:45 PM     #50
Frederick
Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pinellas, FL
Homeland: London,UK
Posts: 32
Frederick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Just thought Id chime in on this thread since I recently purchased a device called the MagicJack that allows you to make and receive calls via the internet - Viop.

The product cost me approx $46 inc shipping. It plugs into a USB port and then you can either plug your normal telephone into it or use the computer screen and some headphones / speakers to make and receive calls. Depending on where your located you also get a local number.

The $46 is total for one whole year of usage - no bills at all. After that I think its approx 50 for two futher years of service. Ive been using it now for about 1 month and its okay, basically dont expect its performance to be as good as your 30-40 dollar a month brighthouse "landline". But for the price I cant complain. I use it to make calls to the UK at 2 cents per min mainly and can make unlimted national calls here inc canada AFAIK.

Hope this helps folks that are on a budget. I found telephony and internet prices here extremely un-competitive - well in my area anyways.
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 03:46 PM     #51
britcan
Senior Member
 
britcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada (again) August 2008
Homeland: Canada &Poole, Dorset
Posts: 1,085
britcan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I am using Igonet and find that to be very good.

www.igonet.com
__________________
Fight the good fight!!
britcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 02:58 AM     #52
Steve in clermont
Large Member
 
Steve in clermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clermont Fl
Homeland: London England
Posts: 373
Steve in clermont is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hey guys

Vonage = Rip off

I have a gadget called a Magicjack, it cost $39 .
With it plugged into my pc i get free calls in US pueto rico etc just like vonage. I also get international calls at 2c pe minute. I have voice mail , call waiting and all the other usless gimics the phone companys give you.
I get my own magic jack phone number which i can choose the dialling prefix.
I just plug my ordinary phone into the magic jack and can make and recieve call just like a land line.
If i send a magic jack to my relatives in UK or anywhere in the world, they can call me or anyone else in the USA for free, and once they have a magic jack i can call them free too.

Im not a sales man for this product , but i can say for 20 bucks a YEAR i save a small fortune by not having a standard land line.
Steve in clermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 02:58 AM     #53
Steve in clermont
Large Member
 
Steve in clermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clermont Fl
Homeland: London England
Posts: 373
Steve in clermont is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

www.magicjack.com
Steve in clermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 03:00 AM     #54
Steve in clermont
Large Member
 
Steve in clermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clermont Fl
Homeland: London England
Posts: 373
Steve in clermont is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

oops sorry i didnt notice frederick had already mentions it
Steve in clermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 08:26 PM     #55
Frederick
Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pinellas, FL
Homeland: London,UK
Posts: 32
Frederick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve in clermont View Post
oops sorry i didnt notice frederick had already mentions it


Yeah, its not a bad device. Really cant go wrong for the price to be honest.
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 01:37 AM     #56
Arthur Mo
Senior Member
 
Arthur Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Windermere
Homeland: UK
Posts: 170
Arthur Mo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

For Vonage I find you need a high speed above 5mb to get a good connection
Arthur Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Have we helped? Please donate to use and help us keep going!



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Expat's Voice © 2006 - 2020