Expat's Voice
Home Register Forum Articles Ask An Attorney Games Arcade Our Sponsors Our Petition
Welcome guest! Have we helped?
separating bar
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts


Go Back   Expat's Voice > General > Science, Technology & IT
Vonage - VOIP

Forum section: Science, Technology & IT - Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.  -  Use English only please.

Science, Technology & IT Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2006, 08:56 PM     #1
DavidL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Homeland: UK
Posts: 290
DavidL is on a distinguished road
Default Vonage - VOIP

Now I'm not terribly good with IT, but I have just noticed that Vonage has now widened its free call list to the UK with its 'Unlimited package.' If you have a Broadband connection then the unlimited phone service with free calls within the USA and other countries including the UK is $29.99 plus tax (I presume) per month.

Does anyone on here currently use vonage and have an opinion?

www.vonage.com

David
DavidL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 10:07 PM     #2
Bobby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 684
Bobby is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I was golfing with a buddy the other day who raved about it, and says he's on 1c per minute to the UK. I don't understand the full package implications as opposition to what I have right now with Bright House but I'm sure I pay about $140 per month for high speed internet, basic cable and 2 phone lines. This Vonage has got to be better. I just haven't had time to look into to it yet. Anyone with any information on this, please post. It's got to be a good thing!!

Bobby
Bobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:30 PM     #3
DavidL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Homeland: UK
Posts: 290
DavidL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Bobby,

All I know is that like you we pay around $45 for our broadband connection and a further $60 per month (sometimes as high as $100 per month) for our Sprint phone line. The way I see it is that the phone service will depend on the connection qaulity (service & speed) and it just means that the cable modem & router will need to be left pernamently switched on 24/7. Apart from that, the savings look quite reasonable especially as they have just made calling land lines in the UK and some other euro countries FOC. Naturally, calls to moblies and no doubt dodgy sex lines will not be FOC
DavidL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:39 PM     #4
fllion
Member
 
fllion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clermont Florida
Homeland: England
Age: 59
Posts: 60
fllion is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Have been using Vonage for 18 months now ,after paying sprint nearly $170.00 a month for all my UK & long Distance calls ,decided to give this company a try ,Orderd the $24.99 Unlimitled Package ,also a Freephone #
and aFax Line ,works out 39,97 a month plus tax ,with all the calls ive made over to UK ,our bill was never more than $70.00 .So saved my self about $100.00 a month ,Have kept my sprint line Basic rate $25.00,as at the time i couldnt swap my 352 over to vonage ,so still $75.00 better off

the only problem ive had is when the PC or cable goes down ,and the vonage
help line is not to good ,apart from that ,iam glad i changed over

if they keep all UK calls free my bill should only be 39.97 + tax
fllion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 12:49 AM     #5
kimmy
Member
 
kimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 41
kimmy is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Vonage - VOIP

have just bought the wireless-G broadband Router from circuit city for vonage for $110 with a mail in rebate for $110 so havent got anything to lose have not connected it yet but it should save me money as at the moment we are paying $160+ a month
kimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 12:54 AM     #6
Kriz1
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,365
Kriz1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I thought my bill was high at $39..plus $20 for calls to the UK....
__________________
Tea party member

It is only possible to live happily ever after on a day-to-day basis.
Kriz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 08:46 AM     #7
floridapete
Senior Member
 
floridapete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 615
floridapete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

We use SKYPE VOIP to 'call' our grandaughters in San Francisco every Sunday (teatime for us - breakfast time for them).

It is just like having them right in front of us, the quality SO good and it's totally free to any other Skype user !
__________________
Floridapete
floridapete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 12:35 PM     #8
fllion
Member
 
fllion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Clermont Florida
Homeland: England
Age: 59
Posts: 60
fllion is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi Pete ,ive got skype as well and google talk ,both work great soon there be know need for land lines
fllion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 03:28 PM     #9
DavidL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Homeland: UK
Posts: 290
DavidL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by floridapete
We use SKYPE VOIP to 'call' our grandaughters in San Francisco every Sunday (teatime for us - breakfast time for them).

It is just like having them right in front of us, the quality SO good and it's totally free to any other Skype user !
We also use SKYPE and I find the quality to be excellent but many if not all of the people that we need to call do not use the facility even though I do try and 'promote' the service.
DavidL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:28 AM     #10
fatbrit
Permanantly Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USofA
Homeland: UK
Posts: 128
fatbrit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Use Lingo -- excellent service these days and a tad cheaper than Vonage.
fatbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 04:15 AM     #11
JulieC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,742
JulieC is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I used Skype, with the video as well so I can see my son and granddaughter live. Saves us a bundle. Im only interested in ringing my kids in the UK and they have set up for it specifically at the other end so we can talk for free for ages. Nearly as good as having them here.
JulieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 04:16 AM     #12
katya
Member
 
katya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wellington ( West of West Palm Beach, FL)
Homeland: London
Posts: 70
katya is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Yes, we are on SKYPE too. I find it brilliant !!
__________________
Katya
For questions on your UK Pensions.
katya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 02:18 AM     #13
Kriz1
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,365
Kriz1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

All of you keeping my hubby in work I see......
__________________
Tea party member

It is only possible to live happily ever after on a day-to-day basis.
Kriz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 06:43 PM     #14
DavidL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Homeland: UK
Posts: 290
DavidL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by katya
Yes, we are on SKYPE too. I find it brilliant !!

Remember, Skype has an offer on this weekend with free landline calls to the UK. I've just spent 30 mins talking to ma and 20 mins to bro and the quality was great.
DavidL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:00 AM     #15
lorraine
Senior Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 2,678
lorraine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi all bringing this subject up again. We have been looking at vonage we currently have bright house and pay aol seperate. If you have vonage who do you then get your dsl line into your house??? We have skype which I use to speak to family, but vonage looks best package. Thankyou kind regards Lorraine
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:03 AM     #16
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

comcast and vonage works great for us
I also use Skype if I wnat to see them????
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:15 AM     #17
anniefromessex
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kissimmee
Homeland: U.K.
Posts: 2,176
anniefromessex is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi, we use Vonage too and we speak to our kids for hours on end for nothing - it's great. Had glitches sometimes, a very posh voice comes on and says all the lines are busy, try again later, but we just dial again and away we go!!! We pay $24.95 per month which gives us free long distance, free calls to, I think, 6 countries including U.K, plus call waiting and caller ID. Obviously have to have High Speed Internet which Brighthouse installed, but Embarq do it, obviously loads of others too.
anniefromessex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:26 AM     #18
lorraine
Senior Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 2,678
lorraine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi thanks Peter and Annie. Peter how much is comcast DSL??? Thanks Lorraine
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 02:03 AM     #19
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

$39.99
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:31 AM     #20
Jax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kissimmee FL
Homeland: UK
Posts: 187
Jax is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi
This may sound like a silly question but to get high speed internet don,t you have to have a phone line? Does that mean paying a monthly standing charge with a phone company as well as paying Vonage. We have a package with Embarq for phone,internet and Dish but we are interested in Vonage
Help
Jax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Have we helped? Please donate to use and help us keep going!



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Expat's Voice © 2006 - 2020