Expat's Voice Advert
Home Register Forum Articles Ask An Attorney Games Arcade Our Sponsors Our Petition
Welcome guest! Have we helped?
separating bar
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts


Go Back   Expat's Voice > General > Science, Technology & IT
Vonage - VOIP

Forum section: Science, Technology & IT - Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.  -  Use English only please.

Science, Technology & IT Discuss issues about science, technology and computers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2007, 01:02 PM     #21
lorraine
Senior Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 2,678
lorraine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Tried comcast not in our area the only ones in this area are brighthouse and sprint so looks like we stuck with them for dsl cable and will go vonage for use. Thanks for you info.
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:33 PM     #22
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

brighthouse is good
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 02:09 PM     #23
lorraine
Senior Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 2,678
lorraine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Yes we with bright house now just they putting their prices up going with road runner, we pay aol seperate at the moment and have brighthouse. We can no longer pay aol seperate and bright house want alot more money.
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 05:55 PM     #24
anniefromessex
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kissimmee
Homeland: U.K.
Posts: 2,176
anniefromessex is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I'm not very savvy with all this, but as stated before we now have Vonage, High Speed Internet was installed by Brighthouse and whereas we used to have Sprint as our telephone company we now dont have them as our carrier at all, I think it goes through computer lines or some such thing so we just pay Vonage and Earthlink - Ted's not here so can't verify that with him, but I know we don't actually have the normal telephone line in the house anymore.

I know I sound totally thick but I was born in the age of not even having a phone in the house, how sad is that?!!!
anniefromessex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 11:10 PM     #25
lorraine
Senior Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 2,678
lorraine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi Annie ditto I dont understand any thing technical, this one for this, this one for that, give me old fashioned typewriter and a phone and I happy. Dont even like having a cell phone and I wont answer it whilst driving at all. lol
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 12:44 PM     #26
Mairi_melanie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Mairi_melanie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

I use Skype for making calls to home Texas. Its free if I'm calling to other Skype user anywhere around. And for US and canada they have these annual $29.95 packages. And I haven't had any problems with the connections yet.
So Skype is working for me.

I get the details of latest rates from skype website.

www.skype.com
Mairi_melanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 01:21 PM     #27
floridapete
Senior Member
 
floridapete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 615
floridapete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Skype video is GREAT !

I may have been slow to discover the 'video' aspect of this because I am one of those 'curious' people who prefers an Apple Mac computer to a Windows PC, and the video version of Skype for Mac has only recently become available.

But on Sundays around tea-time for us, and breakfast time for them, we get to see and talk with our granddaughters (8 and 5) who live in California. It's just like having them in the same room with us. Sound and picture are SO clear !

And it's free to talk for as long as we like !
__________________
Floridapete
floridapete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 05:43 PM     #28
Sab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Kissimmee
Homeland: UK
Posts: 253
Sab is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

question about vonage.....
We currently have a phone line with Sprint, As i understand it we tranfer our number to vonage, the sprint line is terminated.
Does anybody know what happens in a power outage situation? Do I loose my land line? I live in an area with bad cell phone reception. Am I then stranded with no phones ?

Sab
Sab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:46 PM     #29
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

simply put yes as the line for your phone is coming through the computer and if that goes down so does your phone and you will need a cell
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 11:39 PM     #30
Kriz1
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,365
Kriz1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sab
question about vonage.....
We currently have a phone line with Sprint, As i understand it we tranfer our number to vonage, the sprint line is terminated.
Does anybody know what happens in a power outage situation? Do I loose my land line? I live in an area with bad cell phone reception. Am I then stranded with no phones ?

Sab
We have com cast and have battery backup....we have hand held phones which need power so we loss our phones in an outage anyway....
__________________
Tea party member

It is only possible to live happily ever after on a day-to-day basis.
Kriz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:40 PM     #31
Sab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Kissimmee
Homeland: UK
Posts: 253
Sab is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

My vonage router arrived this morning. I connected it all up myself and now we have free landline calls to the Uk.

I have made a couple of calls on it already and the clarity of the line is excellent. Plus we got two months line rental free.

Hopefully we will have no problems
Sab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:52 PM     #32
SHEILA 13
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
SHEILA 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Davenport
Homeland: Uk
Posts: 2,996
SHEILA 13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi Sab,We have been on it for nearly a year now and people always say "you sound asif your next door"(nothing to do with my mouth).
Sheila
SHEILA 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:55 PM     #33
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

If you introduce another customer get another free month
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 12:16 AM     #34
debd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Davenport
Homeland: UK
Posts: 158
debd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi everyone
I've not looked at the Vonage package so I can't comment on that but I've always used a company called Tel 3 Advantage. It costs 2c per minute to call the UK and they just top you up in increments on $10, $25 or $50 when your credit runs out. It handy if you don't want a monthly fee, and I've found that $25 lasts at least 2 months if not more and thats me calling back to the UK nearly every day, it can be signed up for online and for newcomers theres normally a special offer given more free minutes
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 12:26 AM     #35
SHEILA 13
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
SHEILA 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Davenport
Homeland: Uk
Posts: 2,996
SHEILA 13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Hi Deb,Its ok if your not on the phone all the time but I like vonage as I am on the phone to the Uk everyday for at least 3 hours everyday(yes I like to talk a lot ) and I phone Spain every week and again on the phone for another couple of hours.
It is a good idea though so you dont have another bill at the end of the month.
Sheila
ps It was nice to meet you last night
SHEILA 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 12:28 AM     #36
peter gold
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
peter gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beautiful St Augustine
Homeland: London
Posts: 3,065
peter gold is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Vonage 24.99 and free calls US and UK cannot be beaten value and quality
Downside is if computer or sever crashes you have no phone and need a cell
__________________
I am not an Attorney.
peter gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 10:38 PM     #37
ChrisG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lakeland
Homeland: England
Posts: 105
ChrisG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

For Vonage you do NOT need a computer running. Just plug your phone into the router also lets you use DECT phones so you can have your extensions dotted around the home WITHOUT wires.
So YES you lose your phone if your cable/highspeed supplier is down; your router or even power. I personally have had no problems or downtime since subscribing in 2005.
It has been a god send to me the last few months while in the UK, I only pay the 14.99 for 500 US minutes etc but I purchased a V phone (USB Stick) switched my routing address from my US router and hey presto make calls over wifi in UK to US out of my US minutes. Meant I could keep making US business calls without the large phone bills the typically accompany them.
Works alongside Skype etc so have the best of all worlds.
ChrisG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 11:20 PM     #38
Kriz1
[Expat's Voice Team]
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,365
Kriz1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

We have battery back up with our cable phone...so if the power goes we can still phone out on the none wireless phones..
__________________
Tea party member

It is only possible to live happily ever after on a day-to-day basis.
Kriz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:53 PM     #39
McSporran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Homeland: UK
Posts: 877
McSporran is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

Can anyone tell me if they have Vonage and a monitored alarm system (like ADT), and how this worked. I agree that Vonage is great value, but I'm worried that I'll loose our alarm system????
McSporran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 12:51 PM     #40
kimmy
Member
 
kimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 41
kimmy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vonage - VOIP

we are with brinks and they put a adapter on your phone line it does work because we have had a false alarm and we was called
kimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Have we helped? Please donate to use and help us keep going!



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Expat's Voice © 2006 - 2020